FAMILY SUPPORT

IS ESSENTIAL !

FE_instagram_EN_01.png
FE_instagram_EN_03.png
FE_instagram_EN_02.png
FE_instagram_EN_04.png
FE_instagram_EN_05.png
FE_instagram_EN_06.png

A LOVING FAMILY : AN ESSENTIAL SUPPORT SYSTEM     

​​​​

A family love's is essential and shouldn't depend on sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. 

 

Being able to count on one's family for support can make a huge difference in an LGBTQ+ person's life and happiness. That's why it's crucial to show our support to all our LGBTQ+, whether they are our children, our parents, our siblings, our oncles, our nieces, our cousins or our grandparents.

KEY NUMBERS :

 

59% of canadians are completly "out" to their immediate,  and 17% are partially "out" to their family. (2017

 

51% of trans people in Canada say their family didn't believe them or ignore their coming-out (2017)

 

25% of French people said they would be uneasy about one of their children coming a to a family dinner with a same-sex partner. (2019)

70% of Canadians who have a gay family member say they accepted the situation "very easily" and 19% "pretty easily". (2020)

Tell your loved ones you loves them just the way they are using this may 17th GIF : 

ISSUES

 

ISOLATION

Unfortunately, even today, some people cut ties, reduce contact or change their attitude after the coming out of their loved one. It is important to realize that this person is still the same you know. They are only revealing a part of their identity that you did not know. However because we live in a society where prejudice, discrimination and violence are still rampant and coming-out can be frightening, your love and support are all the more crucial.

 

REJECTION

53% of Canadians who hesitated before telling their family about their identity feared being rejected. As well as playing a very important emotional support role for people of all ages, family has great material power and authority over young people: Some LGBTQ+ youths are banned from going out, or can have their phones or computers confiscated when their parents find out about their identity. Others may be sent into conversion therapy, or may experience different types of abuse. Unfortunately, still today LGBTQ+ youth are made to leave their homes either because they have been thrown out, or because they are abused, intimidated or neglected to the point of feeling compelled to leave.

 

TRUST

For many, coming out to someone is a sign of trust. Try to live up to the trust place in you. If someone in your family comes out to you, ask them who else knows. If you're the first who've been told, or if you are amongst the few to know, it is very important not to tell others about it without the explicit consent of your loved one. Coming out is a personal process and you should respect their boundaries.

 

FULFILLMENT

Studies show that LGBTQ+ people who are well accepted by their families are happier and more fulfilled. On the contrary, LGBTQ+ people who are rejected by their families are more likely to have attempted suicide, to be depressed and to use illegal drugs.

 

 

 

DIFFERENT STAGES OF ACCEPTANCE

 

SHOCK

Coming out can be a shock for loved ones, especially when the family had absolutely no idea. This reaction is normal and certain people will need more time than others to get used to this new reality.

 

DENIAL

Denying the person's identity is a frequent reaction ("it's just a phase", "you're just confused", etc.). Refusing to see reality is a defense mechanism. Some relatives react by not wanting to discuss this situation anymore. But that does not help the situation nor does it helps the LGBTQ+ person, who may then feel ignored. The denial usually comes to an end after a while (ex: meeting the same-sex partner) and the family comes to terms with reality, but before that happens, the denial may have already damaged the relationship. After coming out, 30% of LGBTQ+ Canadians said that their family had tried to convince them that "it was only a phase" or "it was going to pass". This kind of speech invalidates the identity of the person, and might result in the person distanciating themselves from their family members who weren't supportive. 

 

ACCEPTANCE

After a more or less long period, the family generally accepts the identity of their loved one and life goes on. Although being LGBTQ+ can be a important part of someone's identity, it is not always as "big of a deal" as some make it out to be. Before they can truly accept the identity of their loved one, family members need to challenge some of their preconceptions, take stock of their fears, and learn more about the realities of their LGBTQ+ loved one. The time it takes to truly accept the identity of their LGBTQ+ varies from person to person (from days to years). Unfortunately, some people may never accept the identity of their loved one, and it might result in them losing that person. 

 

 

 

Ease of Canadians in 2020 to accept the LGBTQ + identity of their loved one when they come out

While there is still work to be done, we can see an improvement over time.

 

Evolution of the percentage of Canadians who would be ok with a close family member marrying a person of the same sex : 

PRESUMED HETERO

Posters from our 2005 campaign: Presumed heterosexual.

When a child is born, society presumes that this person will be heterosexual and cisgender, while about one in ten will not. While it is statistically more likely that the person is heterosexual and cisgender, it is important to keep in mind the possibility that they are not!

FAMILY VIOLENCE

 

When sexual and gender diversity is not accepted by some family members, this can lead to situations of violence.

 

A climate of family violence can have particular consequences when the person is already in a fragile state, for example when they are in the midst of a period of identity crisis related to their sexual orientation or gender identity. Likewise, this kind of violence particularly affects people who depend on their family for their material well-being (e.g. young people, the elderly with loss of autonomy, people living with a disability, etc. ). Family violence can take many forms:

 

  • The most frequent, psychological violence, includes innuendos, insults, accusations, threats, unjustified punitive treatment. Psychological abuse can also take a more subtle form through negative comments about LGBTQ + people even before the person has come out. This kind of comment can make the person not really like seeing family safe. 78% of young people in the United States who are not “out” to their parents have heard their family make negative comments about LGBTQ people (2018).

  • Economic and financial violence results in blackmail and threats to cut food, even to expulsion. 24% of young homeless people in Great Britain are LGBT (2015). Family rejection is one of the main causes of homelessness among LGBTQ + youth.

  • Physical violence consists in hitting, confining or imposing any other form of corporal punishment. In some cases, this kind of violence can take the form of sexual violence or “corrective rape”.

 

HOMOPARENTAL FAMILIES

“Homo-parental family:

Refers to any family type of which at least one of the parents is lesbian, gay or bisexual (LGB). Homoparental families exist in various forms: they can be two-parent, single-parent, stepfamily, adoptive, foster, multiethnic, biracial, etc. LGB parents can be cisgender or trans.

Trans-parental family:

Any family form of which at least one of the parents is trans A trans person can become a parent before or after starting a transition process, and can be heterosexual, homosexual, bisexual or any other orientation. "

 

Definitions from LGBT Families: the guide (Les Éditions de agitation, 2015) produced by the Coalition of LGBT Families

Children from same-parent families have similar paths to other children, and often experience the same joys and sorrows from childhood. What distinguishes their daily life from that of their friends is the way society looks at LGBTQ + people and, by association, at their families. This look is sometimes heavy and can cause these children to fear talking about their family despite the love they have for their parents.

5 steps to eliminate prejudice

1

Find out about same-sex parenting by consulting the section

"Resources"

2

Do not assume that all families are
heteroparental

3

Be open if a friend or child tells you about their homoparental family

4

Intervene if a friend or child is mocked

5

Take the opportunity to interact with families
homoparental

Canadians agreed in 2014 with the following statement: "In order for a child to develop fully, it must have parents of the opposite sex".

RESOURCES:

For those close to LGBTQ + people: PFLAG: https://pflagcanada.ca/

To speak with someone and ask questions: Line spacing: https://interligne.co/

For LGBT families (French and English): Coalition of LGBTQ families + https://familleslgbt.org/

For LGBTQ + families: Family Equality: https://www.familyequality.org/

For children of LGBTQ + people: Colage https://www.colage.org/

© 2020 FONDATION ÉMERGENCE

Website by C'est Paulette

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Twitter

LE SOUTIEN DE LA FAMILLE,

C'EST ESSENTIEL !

FE_instagram_FR_01.png
FE_instagram_FR_03.png
FE_instagram_FR_02.png
FE_instagram_FR_04.png
FE_instagram_FR_05.png
FE_instagram_FR_06.png

L’AMOUR DE LA FAMILLE: UN SOUTIEN ESSENTIEL     

​​​​

L’amour d’une famille est essentiel et ne devrait pas dépendre de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’identité de genre ou de l’expression de genre d’une personne.

 

Avoir le soutien de ses proches peut faire une grande différence pour l’épanouissement personnel d’une personne LGBTQ+. C’est pourquoi il est primordial de montrer notre soutien à tous les membres de notre famille qui sont LGBTQ+, que ce soit nos enfants, nos parents, frères, tantes,  neveux,  cousin.e.s, grands-parents, etc.

 

QUELQUES CHIFFRES:

 

59% des canadien.ne.s sont totalement «out» à leur cercle familial immédiat, et 17% le sont partiellement. (2017)

 

51% des personnes trans au Canada disent que leur famille ne les a pas crus ou qu’elle a ignoré l'information lorsqu'elles ont fait leur « coming out ». (2017)

 

25% des Français.e.s ont déclaré être mal à l’aise à l’idée qu’un de leur enfant vienne à une réunion de famille avec un conjoint de même sexe. (2019)

70% des Canadien.ne.s qui ont un proche homosexuel ont dit l’avoir accepté « très facilement » et 19% « assez facilement ». (2020)

Dîtes à vos proches LGBTQ+ que vous les aimez tel.le.s qu’illes sont en leur envoyant ce GIF pour le 17 mai:

ENJEUX

ISOLEMENT

Malheureusement, encore aujourd’hui certaines personnes coupent les ponts, réduisent les contacts ou changent d’attitude après le "coming-out" de leur proche. Il est important de réaliser que cette personne est toujours la même que celle que vous avez connu. Elle ne fait que révéler une partie de son identité que vous ne connaissiez pas et elle a toujours besoin de votre amour et soutien.

 

REJET

53% des Canadien.ne.s qui ont hésité avant de parler de leur identité à leur famille craignaient d’être rejeté. En plus de jouer un rôle de soutien émotionnel très important pour les personnes de tout âge, la famille a un grand pouvoir matériel et d’autorité sur les jeunes : certains se voient interdits de sortie, ou peuvent se faire confisquer leur téléphone ou ordinateurs. D’autres peuvent être envoyés dans des thérapies de conversions, ou subir différents types de violences. Malheureusement, encore aujourd’hui des jeunes LGBTQ+ sont forcés de quitter leur maison car ils en ont été expulsés ou bien ils sont violentés, intimidés ou négligés au point de se sentir obligé.e.s de partir.

 

CONFIANCE

Pour beaucoup, faire son "coming-out" à quelqu’un est une preuve de confiance. Tentez d’être à la hauteur de cette confiance qu’on vous attribue. Si une personne de votre famille vous fait son "coming-out", voyez avec elle si d’autres personnes sont au courant. Si ce n’est pas le cas, il est très important de ne pas en parler à d’autres personnes sans le consentement explicite de votre proche.

 

ÉPANOUISSEMENT

Les études montrent que les personnes LGBTQ+ qui sont bien acceptées par leurs familles sont plus heureuses et épanouies. Au contraire les personnes LGBTQ+ qui sont rejetées par leur familles sont plus susceptibles d’avoir tenté de se suicider, d’être dépressives et de consommer des drogues illégales.

PHASES DE L'ACCEPTATIONS

LE CHOC

Le "coming-out" peut être un choc pour les proches, surtout lorsque la famille ne s’en doutait absolument pas. Cette réaction est normale et certain.e.s personnes auront besoin de temps pour se faire à cette nouvelle réalité.

LE DÉNI

Nier la réalité est une réaction fréquente. Le refus de voir la réalité est un mécanisme de défense. Certains proches réagissent en ne voulant plus discuter de cette situation. Cela n'aide ni la situation ni la personne LGBTQ+, qui peut alors se sentir ignoré.e. Le déni fini généralement pas s’estomper et la famille se réconcilie avec la réalité, mais avant que cela se produise, le déni peut avoir déjà endommagé la relation. Après leur sortie du placard, 30% des Canadien.ne.s LGBTQ+ ont dit que leur famille avait essayé de les convaincre que « ce n’était qu’une phase » ou que « ça allait passer ». Ce genre de discours invalide l’identité de la personne.

L'ACCEPTATION

Après une période plus ou moins longue, la famille accepte généralement l’identité de leur proche et la vie continue. Il se peut qu’avant de pouvoir réellement accepter l’identité de son proche, les membres de la famille aient besoin de remettre en question certaines de leurs préconceptions, de faire le point sur leurs craintes, et de se renseigner. Ce temps varie d’une personne à l’autre et il se peut que certains membres de la famille n’acceptent pas l’identité de leur proche.

Facilité des Canadien.ne.s en 2020 à accepter l’identité LGBTQ+ de leur proche à son "coming-out"

Bien qu’il demeure du travail à faire, nous pouvons constater une amélioration de la situation avec le temps.

Pourcentage de Canadien.ne.s qui seraient favorables à ce qu’un membre proche de leur famille se marie avec une personne de même sexe.

HÉTÉRO PAR DÉFAUT

Visuels issus de notre campagne 2005 : Présumé.e hétérosexuel.le

Lorsqu’un enfant vient au monde, la société présume cette personne sera hétérosexuelle et cisgenre, alors que ce ne sera pas le cas pour environ une personne sur dix. Bien qu’il soit statistiquement plus probable que la personne soit hétérosexuelle et cisgenre il est important de garder en tête la possibilité qu’elle ne le soit pas !

VIOLENCE FAMILIALE

Lorsque la diversité sexuelle et de genre n’est pas acceptée par certains membres de la famille, cela peut mener à des situations de violence.

 

Un climat de violence familiale peut avoir des conséquences particulières lorsque la personne est déjà en état de fragilité, par exemple lorsqu'elle est au milieu d'une période de crise d’identité en rapport avec son orientation sexuelle ou son identité de genre. De même, ce genre de violence affecte particulièrement les personnes qui dépendent de leur famille pour leur bien-être matériel (ex: les jeunes, les personnes aîné.e.s en perte d’autonomie, les personnes qui vivent avec une situation de handicap, etc.). La violence familiale peut prendre plusieurs formes:

  • La plus fréquente, la violence psychologique, comprend les insinuations, les insultes, les accusations, les menaces, les traitements punitifs non justifiées. La violence psychologique peut aussi prendre une forme plus subtile au travers de commentaires négatifs sur les personnes LGBTQ+ avant même que la personne n’ait fait son "coming-out". Ce genre de commentaire peuvent faire en sorte que la personne ne se sente pas réellement aimé voir en sécurité dans sa famille. 78% des jeunes aux États-Unis qui ne sont pas "out" à leurs parents ont entendu leur famille faire des commentaires négatifs sur les personnes LGBTQ (2018).

  • La violence économique et financière se traduit par le chantage et les menaces de couper les vivres, allant jusqu’à l’expulsion. 24% des jeunes itinérant.e.s en Grande-Bretagne sont LGBT (2015). Le rejet familial est l’une des principales causes de l’itinérance des jeunes LGBTQ+.

  • La violence physique, consiste à frapper, à séquestrer ou à imposer toute autre forme de châtiment corporel. Dans certains cas, ce genre de violence peut prendre la forme de violences sexuelles ou « viol correctif ».

FAMILLES HOMOPARENTALES

« Famille homoparentale : 

Désigne toute forme de famille dont au moins un des parents est lesbien, gai ou bisexuel (LGB). Les familles homoparentales existent sous diverses formes : elles peuvent être biparentales, monoparentales, recomposées, adoptives, d’accueil, multiethniques, biraciales, etc. Les parents LGB peuvent être cisgenres ou trans.

Famille transparentale : 

Toute forme de famille dont au moins un des parents est trans. Une personne trans peut devenir parent avant ou après avoir entamé un processus de transition, et peut être hétérosexuelle, homosexuelle, bisexuelle ou de toute autre orientation. »

 

Définitions tirées de "Familles LGBT : le guide" (Les Éditions de remue-ménage, 2015) réalisé par la Coalition des Familles LGBT+

Les enfants issus de familles homoparentales ont des parcours semblables aux autres enfants et connaissent souvent les mêmes joies et peines de l’enfance. Ce qui distingue leur quotidien de celui de leurs ami.e.s, c’est le regard que porte la société sur les personnes LGBTQ+ et, par association, sur leur famille. Ce regard est parfois lourd et peut amener ces enfants à craindre de parler de leur famille malgré l’amour qu’ils ont pour leurs parents.

5 gestes pour éliminer les préjugés

1

Informez-vous sur l’homoparentalité en consultant la rubrique

« Ressources » 

2

Ne présumez pas que toutes les familles sont
hétéroparentales

3

Démontrez de l’ouverture si un ami ou un enfant vous parle de sa famille homoparentale

4

Intervenez si un ami ou un enfant est victime de moquerie

5

Saisissez les occasions d’interagir avec des familles
homoparentales

Degrés d’accord des Canadien.ne.s en 2014 avec l’affirmation suivante : « Pour qu’un enfant puisse se développer pleinement il doit avoir des parents de sexe opposé ».

RESSOURCES:

Pour les proches de personnes LGBTQ+ : PFLAG : https://pflagcanada.ca/

Pour parler avec quelqu’un et poser des questions : Interligne : https://interligne.co/

Pour les familles LGBT+ (français et anglais) : Coalition des familles LGBT+ https://familleslgbt.org/

Pour les familles LGBTQ+ (anglais seulement) : Family Equality : https://www.familyequality.org/

Pour les enfants de personnes LGBTQ+ : Colage https://www.colage.org/

© 2020 FONDATION ÉMERGENCE

Site web par C'est Paulette

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Twitter