New Survey! 66 % of Quebecers consider that it is difficult for homosexual seniors to be openly in a relationship in a seniors’ residence.

Published by May 30, 2016 6:40 pm

According to a survey conducted by Fondation Émergence for the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia

66% of Quebecers consider that it is difficult for homosexual seniors to be openly in a relationship in a seniors’ residence.

 

The realities of LGBT seniors, a key theme in the fight against prejudice

Montreal, May 30, 2016 — As part of the activities surrounding the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia, Fondation Émergence is releasing the results of a recent survey conducted by Léger Marketing about Canadians’ and Quebecers’ perceptions and opinions about homophobia and transphobia in connection with the theme of the 2016 campaign. This year’s campaign deals with the realities of elderly lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals, and has as its main theme Homophobia and Transphobia Affect All Ages.

All told, slightly more than half of the Canadians surveyed (52%) consider that it is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT (rather difficult + very difficult) for elderly homosexuals to be openly in a relationship in everyday life. The percentage is significantly lower among the Quebecers who took part in the survey (44%).

The data is different when it comes to seniors’ residences (long-term care facilities/CHSLDs, private residences, etc.). In fact, 62% of the Canadians surveyed consider that it is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT (rather difficult + very difficult) for elderly homosexuals to be openly in a relationship in a seniors’ residence. The percentage is higher among Quebecers (66%).

For Claude Leblond, the president of Fondation Émergence, this raises serious questions about the efforts being made by seniors’ residences to be inclusive towards lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals: “This perception of Quebecers and Canadians confirms the results of studies and our observations in the field. Fondation Émergence has been fighting since 2009 to gain recognition and respect for LGBT individuals living in seniors’ residences, notably through the Pour que vieillir soit gai program, but progress has been slow. As a result, many LGBT seniors feel uncomfortable revealing their sexual orientation, identity or gender expression. They become invisible in their living environments.”

This last point seems to be borne out by the results of the survey. While 66% of the Canadians surveyed state that they know at least one LGBT person aged 65 and under in their immediate circle, only 22% of the respondents indicated that they know at least one person aged 65 and over. The difference is appreciable. It is interesting to note that, among the Quebecers surveyed, a higher percentage (75%) stated that they know at least one LGBT person aged 65 and under, but the proportion was almost as low (25%) as the Canadian average for the question about those 65 and older.

The survey also measured respondents’ knowledge of the terms homophobia and transphobia. Compared to 2013, Canadians have a better knowledge of the meaning of the acronym LGBT (70%, higher than 2013’s 40%) and the word transphobia (65%, compared to 40% in 2013). It is interesting to note that, compared to residents in the rest of Canada, more Quebecers state that they know the word homophobia (88% for the Canadian respondents and 93% for the Quebec respondents), but Quebecers are substantially less aware of the meaning of the acronym LGBT (46%) and the word transphobia (53%).

Methodology: The survey was conducted from April 25-30, 2016 through an online questionnaire across a random sample of 1,513 Canadians from the LegerWeb panel. All respondents were 18 years of age or older and were able to communicate in French or English.

 

View the survey results in their entirety.

 

About Fondation Émergence

Fondation Émergence works to fight homophobia and transphobia and to defend the rights and support the inclusion of LGBT individuals in society through a range of programs, including the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia on May 17th.

– 30 –

Source: Fondation Émergence

www.fondationemergence.org
www.homophobiaday.org

For more information:

Laurent Breault
Program Director
Fondation Émergence
438-384-1058
courrier@fondationemergence.org

Media relations
Alain Labonté Communications
514 523 9922
alain@alainlabonte.ca

Nouveau sondage! 66 % des Québécois considèrent qu’il est difficile pour les personnes aînées homosexuelles de vivre ouvertement une relation amoureuse en centre d’hébergement pour personnes aînées.

Publié par mai 30, 2016 6:40

Selon un sondage réalisé pour la Fondation Émergence, dans le cadre de la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie

 

66 % des Québécois considèrent qu’il est difficile pour les personnes aînées homosexuelles de vivre ouvertement une relation amoureuse en centre d’hébergement pour personnes aînées.

 

Les réalités des personnes aînées LGBT, un thème central dans la lutte contre les préjugés

Montréal, le 30 mai 2016 — Dans le cadre des activités entourant la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, la Fondation Émergence dévoile les résultats d’un récent sondage mené par Léger Marketing sur la perception et l’opinion des Canadiens et des Québécois à l’égard de l’homophobie et de la transphobie, en lien avec la thématique de sa campagne 2016. Celle-ci porte sur les réalités des personnes aînées lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et trans, ayant pour thème principal L’homophobie et la transphobie affectent tous les âges.

Au total, un peu plus de la moitié des répondants canadiens (52 %) considèrent qu’il est TOTAL DIFFICILE (assez + très difficile), pour les personnes aînées homosexuelles de vivre ouvertement une relation amoureuse dans la vie de tous les jours. Cette proportion est significativement moins élevée chez les Québécois (44 %).

Les données changent lorsqu’il s’agit des centres d’hébergement pour personnes aînées (CHSLD, résidences privées, etc.). En effet, 62 % des répondants canadiens considèrent qu’il est TOTAL DIFFICILE (assez + très difficile) pour les personnes aînées homosexuelles de vivre ouvertement une relation amoureuse en centre d’hébergement pour personnes aînées. Cette proportion s’élève à 66 % pour les Québécois.

Pour Claude Leblond, président de la Fondation Émergence, cela soulève de sérieuses questions quant à l’effort d’inclusion de l’ensemble des centres d’hébergement envers les personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et trans : « Cette perception qu’ont les Québécois et les Canadiens confirme les études et notre constat sur le terrain. Depuis 2009, la Fondation Émergence lutte pour faire reconnaître et respecter les personnes aînées LGBT dans les centres d’hébergement, notamment avec le programme Pour que vieillir soit gai, mais la porte s’ouvre difficilement. Par conséquent, beaucoup de personnes aînées LGBT ne se sentent pas à l’aise de divulguer leur orientation sexuelle, leur identité ou expression de genre. Elles deviennent alors invisibles dans leur milieu de vie. »

Cette dernière affirmation semble se dessiner dans les résultats du sondage. Alors que 66 % des répondants canadiens affirment connaître dans leur entourage immédiat au moins une personne LGBT de 65 ans et moins, seulement 22 % des répondants affirment en connaître au moins une de 65 ans et plus. La différence est importante. Fait intéressant, les répondants québécois sont plus nombreux (75 %) à affirmer connaître au moins une personne LGBT de 65 et moins, mais la proportion reste relativement aussi basse que la moyenne canadienne pour les 65 ans et plus (25 %).

Le sondage a aussi mesuré la connaissance des termes homophobie et transphobie. Comparativement à 2013, les Canadiens connaissent davantage la signification de l’acronyme LGBT (70 % supérieur à 40 % en 2013) et du mot transphobie (65 % contre 40 % en 2013). Il est intéressant de noter que, comparativement aux résidents du reste du Canada, les Québécois sont plus nombreux à affirmer connaître le mot homophobie (88 % pour les répondants canadiens et 93 % pour les répondants québécois), mais sont nettement moins renseignés quant à l’acronyme LGBT (46 %) et au mot transphobie (53 %).

Méthodologie : Le sondage a été réalisé du 25 au 39 avril 2016 par le biais d’un sondage web auprès d’un échantillon aléatoire de 1513 Canadiens tirés du panel LegerWeb. Tous les répondants étaient âgés de 18 ans et plus et pouvaient s’exprimer en français ou en anglais.

 

Consultez les résultats complets du sondage.

 

À propos de la Fondation Émergence

La Fondation Émergence œuvre à la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, à la défense des droits et à l’inclusion des personnes LGBT dans la société, au moyen de différents programmes, dont la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie du 17 mai.

– 30 –

Source : Fondation Émergence
www.fondationemergence.org
www.homophobie.org.

Pour plus d’informations :
Laurent Breault         
Chargé de programme
Fondation Émergence
438 384-1058
courrier@fondationemergence.org

Media relations
Alain Labonté Communications
514 523 9922
alain@alainlabonte.ca