The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, to receive the 2016 Laurent McCutcheon Award for his commitment to fighting homophobia and transphobia.

Published by May 16, 2016 12:44 pm

In collaboration with the National Bank, official partner of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia

Montreal, May 16, 2016 At a ceremony to be hosted by Marguerite Blais on May 16th at the National Bank of Canada headquarters in Montreal, Fondation Émergence will present the 2016 Laurent McCutcheon Award to the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada.

This award is presented annually to a personality who has made a significant contribution throughout their career to the fight against homophobia and transphobia. With the presentation of the 2016 Laurent McCutcheon Award, Claude Leblond, President of Fondation Émergence, and the Board of Directors hope to highlight the unparallelled commitment made by Mr. Trudeau to demystify the realities of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals for the general public across Quebec and Canada.

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, has brought tangible change in the recognition and respect of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) individuals to the political front. His commitment to the rights of LGBT people cannot be denied. In particular, Mr. Trudeau:

  • Made a commitment to adopt a law to further protect the rights of trans individuals;
  • Confirmed that he will be the first Prime Minister to participate to the a Gay Pride Parade in the summer of 2016;
  • Respected his commitment to ensuring that Canadian diversity be reflected in his government and included LGBT persons by incorporating 4 LGBT MPs in his caucus, a record for the Liberal Party of Canada;
  • Announced his intention to put an end to the discriminatory ban that prevents men who have had sexual relations with other men from giving blood;
  • Officially declared that his intention to pardon homosexuals who had been convicted for their sexual orientation prior to 1969;
  • Often said that the right to same-sex marriage constitutes one of his core political principles;
  • Took part, as promised, in the 2015 Vancouver Pride Parade, despite the fact that early elections were called the same day;
  • Encouraged the entry of LGBT Syrian refugees into Canada;
  • Took tangible, everyday actions to openly demonstrate his alliance with the LGBT community, such as posing for photos with Scott Brion, his partner, and their twin daughters, and sending a card of encouragement to Degas Sikorski, a victim of homophobia, also signed by several cabinet members and MPs.

For the occasion, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Quebec and leader in the fight against homophobia and transphobia will present the Laurent McCutcheon Award to Mr. Trudeau. Stéphanie Vallée will present the award created by artist Danielle Roy, who drew her inspiration from the Pink Ball installation by landscape architect Claude Cormier.

Official Event Partner

The National Bank has shown its commitment for the past three years as an official partner of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia. “The National Bank is committed to promoting a culture of openness, because the business world represents one of the most important dimensions of inclusion. It is therefore with great pride that we join forces with Fondation Émergence to highlight the significant contribution of the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau to LGBT communities across Canada,” announced David Pinsonneault.

About Fondation Émergence

Fondation Émergence works to fight against homophobia and transphobia, and for the rights and inclusion of LGBT individuals in society by means of different programs.

Founded in 2000, Fondation Émergence initiated the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia in 2003.

With the Laurent McCutcheon Award presented annually to a public personality, the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau joins 14 previous recipients: Monique Giroux (2015), Michel Marc Bouchard (2014), Ariane Moffatt (2013), Fabienne Larouche (2012), Xavier Dolan (2011), Michel Tremblay (2010), Dany Turcotte (2009), Marc-André Bédard and Joanne Kathleen Rowling (2008), Mark Tewksbury (2007), Canadian MPs (2006), Raymond Gravel (2004), Janette Bertrand (2003). Mr. Trudeau’s father, the Right Honourable Pierre Elliott Trudeau, received the award posthumously in 2005.

About the National Bank of Canada

With $214 billion in assets on January 31, 2015, the National Bank of Canada (www.bnc.ca) and its subsidiaries form one of the largest Canadian integrated financial groups. It employs over 21,000 people and is a recognized employer of choice. Its stock is listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange (NA: TSX). Follow its activities on bnc.ca or social media such as Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.

– 30 –

Source:
Fondation Émergence
www.fondationemergence.org
www.homophonie.org

For more information:
Laurent Breault
Program Director
Fondation Émergence
438-384-1058
email@fondationemergence.org

Media relations
Alain Labonté Communications
514 523 9922
alain@alainlabonte.ca

Le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada, récipiendaire du prix Laurent-McCutcheon 2016 pour son engagement contre l’homophobie et la transphobie

Publié par mai 16, 2016 12:44

En collaboration avec la Banque Nationale, partenaire officiel de la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie

Montréal, le 16 mai 2016 — Lors d’une cérémonie animée par Mme Marguerite Blais qui aura lieu le 16 mai prochain au siège social de la Banque Nationale à Montréal, la Fondation Émergence décernera le prix Laurent-McCutcheon 2016 au très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada.

Ce prix est remis annuellement à une personnalité qui s’est illustrée de façon manifeste dans la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie au cours de sa carrière. Avec la remise du prix Laurent-McCutcheon 2016, le président de la Fondation Émergence, M. Claude Leblond, et les membres du conseil d’administration ont voulu souligner l’engagement hors pair de M. Justin Trudeau dans la démystification des réalités lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et transidentitaires (LGBT) auprès d’un large public, et ce, à travers le Québec et le Canada.

Le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada, apporte des changements tangibles au plan politique pour la reconnaissance et le respect des personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et transidentitaires (LGBT). Son engagement pour les droits des personnes LGBT ne fait aucun doute. M. Justin Trudeau a notamment :

  • Pris l’engagement d’adopter une loi qui protègera davantage les droits des personnes transgenres;
  • Confirmé qu’il sera le premier premier ministre à participer à un défilé de la fierté gaie à l’été 2016;
  • Respecté son engagement à s’assurer que la diversité canadienne se reflète au gouvernement et inclut des personnes LGBT en intégrant quatre députés LGBT dans son caucus, ce qui est d’ailleurs un record pour le Parti libéral du Canada;
  • Annoncé son intention de mettre fin à l’interdiction discriminatoire qui empêche les hommes ayant eu des rapports sexuels avec des hommes de donner du sang;
  • Affirmé officiellement vouloir accorder pardon aux homosexuels qui ont été condamnés pour leur orientation sexuelle avant 1969;
  • Déclaré à plusieurs reprises que la reconnaissance du mariage gai fait partie de ses principes politiques fondamentaux;
  • Participé, comme promis, au défilé de la fierté de Vancouver en 2015 malgré le déclenchement hâtif des élections le jour même;
  • Favorisé l’entrée au Canada de réfugiés syriens LGBT;
  • Posé des gestes concrets de tous les jours, comme prendre des photos avec Scott Brison, son conjoint et leurs deux jumelles, ou adresser une carte de soutien à Degas Sikorski, victime d’homophobie, signée par plusieurs parlementaires canadiens, pour s’afficher ouvertement comme un allié des personnes LGBT.

Pour l’occasion, la ministre de la Justice, procureure générale du Québec et responsable de la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, remettra le Prix Laurent-McCutcheon à M. Justin Trudeau. Mme Vallée remettra le trophée créé par l’artiste Danielle Roy et inspiré par l’installation « Les Boules Roses » de l’architecte de paysage Claude Cormier.

Le partenaire officiel de l’événement

La Banque Nationale s’est engagée depuis maintenant 3 ans en tant que partenaire officiel de la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie. « La Banque Nationale est soucieuse de promouvoir une culture d’ouverture, car le milieu professionnel constitue l’une des dimensions les plus importantes de l’inclusion. C’est donc avec fierté que nous joignons notre voix à celle de la Fondation Émergence pour souligner l’apport significatif du très honorable Justin Trudeau à l’égard des membres de la communauté LGBT, partout au Canada », a annoncé David Pinsonneault.

Au sujet de la Fondation Émergence

La Fondation Émergence œuvre à la lutte contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, à la défense des droits et à l’inclusion des personnes LGBT dans la société, au moyen de différents programmes.

Créée en 2000, la Fondation Émergence est l’initiatrice de la Journée internationale contre l’homophobie et la transphobie, qui a vu le jour en 2003.

Le prix Laurent-McCutcheon étant décerné annuellement à une personnalité publique, le très honorable Justin Trudeau se joint aux quatorze récipiendaires précédents : Monique Giroux (2015), Michel Marc Bouchard (2014), Ariane Moffatt (2013), Fabienne Larouche (2012), Xavier Dolan (2011), Michel Tremblay (2010), Dany Turcotte (2009), Marc-André Bédard et Joanne Kathleen Rowling (2008), Mark Tewksbury (2007), les parlementaires canadiens (2006), Raymond Gravel (2004), Janette Bertrand (2003). Le père de M. Trudeau, le très honorable Pierre Elliott Trudeau, a quant à lui reçu le prix à titre posthume en 2005.

À propos de la Banque Nationale du Canada

Forte d’un actif de 214 milliards de dollars au 31 janvier 2015, la Banque Nationale du Canada (www.bnc.ca), avec ses filiales, forme l’un des plus importants groupes financiers intégrés canadiens. Elle emploie plus de 20 000 personnes et est un employeur de choix reconnu. Ses titres sont cotés à la Bourse de Toronto (TSX : NA). Suivez ses activités par l’entremise des réseaux sociaux et prenez la mesure de son engagement social en visitant jecomprends.ca et engagement.banquenationale.ca.

– 30 –

Source : Fondation Émergence
www.fondationemergence.org
www.homophobie.org

Pour plus d’informations :
Laurent Breault
Chargé de programme
Fondation Émergence
438 384-1058
courrier@fondationemergence.org
Media relations
Alain Labonté Communications
514 523 9922
alain@alainlabonte.ca