ONLINE VIOLENCE

Cyberhomophobia and cybertransphobia

 

The Internet offers incredible opportunities for learning, gathering and entertaining. However, LGBTQ + people are still targeted on digital platforms, and this violence, which is rarely taken seriously, has real and harmful consequences for individuals. Since cyberhomophobia and cybertransphobia take place online, bullies do not witness the pain they cause and, therefore, it is easy for these people to continue or even intensify their attacks, which they might not do if they had the person opposite. The insults, taunts and threats circulating online hurt real people.

 

 

 

What is cyberhomophobia / cybertransphobia?

NEGATIVE ATTITUDES

Cyberhomophobia or cybertransphobia is the spread of negative attitudes towards homosexuality and gender identity.

It often portrays sexual and gender minorities as inferior or abnormal and can take the form of jokes, mockery, hateful and hostile language, disparagement and stereotyping of LGBT people.

WORDS THAT HURT

Some words and phrases can hurt people even without meaning to. It would be better to banish them from his communications, to which must be added the insults: “fif”, “tranny”, “fagot”, “moumoune”, “butch”, “dyke”, “queer”, etc.

 

SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES

Lesbian, gay and bisexual youth are said to be twice as likely as heterosexual youth to report cyberbullying and bullying at school.

One-third of young people who are bullied on the web report symptoms of depression.

HATE SPEECH

Hate speech (often found on social networks) is a type of speech that attacks a community or a member of a community on the basis of one of its characteristics (eg: sexual orientation, gender identity) . It is based on stereotypes and has the effect of:

  • Injure (eg: insults);

  • Provoke fear (eg threats);

  • Dehumanize (eg: comparison with animals or disease);

  • Isolate (present the group deemed “abnormal” as fundamentally different from the majority).

 

CYBER BULLYING

We talk about cyberbullying when a person becomes the target of the actions of other people, using computers, cell phones or other devices, and the goal is to embarrass, humiliate, humiliate, torment, threaten or harass her. (Public Safety Canada)

NUMBERS

  • 73% of LGBTQ + people said they've been personally attacked or harassed online ( According to VpnMentor ).

  • 35% of LGBT youth bullyed online reported having had suicidal ideation as a result of cyberbullying. 1

  • x2 the proportion of the population who has ever experienced cyberbullying at some point in their life has almost doubled between 2007 (18%) and 2016 (34%). 2

  • 1/5 of LGBT youth think cyberbullying is a normal and inevitable part of life online. 3

How often Canadians say they witness derogatory comments about homosexuals, on Facebook (2013)

ISSUES

WHO IS AFFECTED?

Online violence affects everyone, but some communities are particularly targeted, such as LGBTQ + communities. Even within these communities, not everyone is affected in the same way. In addition, non-LGBTQ + people can also experience homophobia and transphobia when they are perceived as LGBTQ + or when they are associated with LGBTQ + people (eg: children of LGBTQ + families, heterosexual people dating a bisexual person , trans or asexual).

A TABOO VIOLENCE

Online violence is taken very little seriously, yet it has very real consequences. Unfortunately, many do not dare to tell the authorities or their relatives about it. The vpnMentor study shows that many participants minimize the harassment suffered and excuse this behavior which is "usual". Some people resign themselves and endure this violence in silence, others withdraw from social networks or hide their identity.

 

A VICIOUS CIRCLE

Cyberbullying is a vicious cycle: A 2012 study (Arslan, Savaser, Hallett, & Balci) shows that victims of cyberbullying are more likely to be cyberbullied because revenge can become a coping mechanism. Additionally, this study shows that cyberbullying increases your chances of being cyberbullied by 20 times.

It is therefore essential to break the circle.

SEXUAL HARASSMENT

Women in LBTQ + communities are generally more at risk of sexual harassment. Bisexual and lesbian women often receive requests for sexual favors (eg: proposed "threesome") which can be dehumanizing and harassing. Asexual people are often targeted by people who wish to "convince" or "convert" them to sexuality. Finally, trans people (and especially women) are often the object of fetishization and unhealthy curiosity.

 

OUTING

People who haven't come out to everyone around them may be blackmailed or targeted by evil people. Transgender women are the most likely to have their identities exposed online against their will. Disclosure of LGBTQ + identity can potentially lead to the reception of hate messages, create hostile family dynamics, damage a career, or even put the person in danger. Remember that in most of the world, discrimination related to sexual orientation and gender identity is not illegal, and in many countries, homosexuality is still criminalized. (See the International page)

Did you know ?

Almost two-thirds (65%) of Canadians say they intervene when faced with homophobia in their everyday life, but less than half (44%) say they do so when it does. is happening on the Internet. (2015)

SOLUTIONS

REPORT

If you see violent content (incitement to hatred, threats, etc.) report the content or its author to the platform.

BLOCK

If you no longer wish to be contacted by someone, do not hesitate to block them.

HIDE

If you are a loader of a page, you can hide or remove comments that do not match your page values.

MAKE A COMPLAINT

If you receive threatening messages, or are harassed, you can file a complaint.

REPLY

No one has a responsibility to educate the world about LGBTQ + issues in their spare time, especially when it involves being insulted. However, responding may change their minds, especially passive bystanders or people who are more ignorant than malicious.

RESOURCES:

pride flagging.jpg

PRIDE FLAGGING is a collaborative project carried out as part of May 17 to curb cyberhomophobia and cybertransphobia. Enable the browser extension on Twitter to automatically identify hateful comments and streamline the reporting process.

Stop cyberhate

How to react to cyberbullying as parents? teenagers? education professionals? Also find videos and quizzes on the subject.

No Hate Speech

How to report hate speech on different social platforms?

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Definition of cyberbullying, bullying and the law and what to do about it.

Dangerous speech project

When does hate speech become dangerous? How to respond?

Tel Youth

Find information on cyberbullying, an FAQ and a crisis line.

ReThink

ReThink is an innovative technological tool that effectively detects and stops online hate before harm is done.

READ FOR MORE INFORMATION:

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

© 2020 FONDATION ÉMERGENCE

Website by C'est Paulette

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Twitter

VIOLENCE EN LIGNE

La cyberhomophobie et la cybertransphobie    

​​​​

Internet offre des opportunités incroyables pour apprendre, se rassembler et se divertir. Cependant, les personnes LGBTQ+ sont encore prises pour cibles sur les plateformes numériques, et cette violence, peu souvent prise au sérieux, a des conséquences réelles et néfastes sur les individus. Puisque la cyberhomophobie et la cybertransphobie se font en ligne, les intimidateurs ne sont pas témoins de la douleur qu’ils ou elles causent et, par conséquent, il est facile pour ces personnes de continuer, voire d’intensifier leurs attaques, ce qu’elles ne feraient peut-être pas si elles avaient la personne en face. Or, les insultes, railleries et menaces qui circulent en ligne blessent de vraies personnes.

 

Qu’est-ce que la cyberhomophobie/cybertransphobie ?

DES ATTITUDES NÉGATIVES

La cyberhomophobie ou cybertransphobie est la diffusion d’attitudes négatives envers l’homosexualité et l’identité de genre.

Elle présente souvent les minorités sexuelles et de genre comme étant inférieures ou anormales et peut prendre la forme de blagues, de moqueries, de propos haineux et hostiles, de dénigrement et de stéréotypes envers les personnes LGBT. 

DES MOTS QUI BLESSENT

Certains mots et expressions peuvent blesser des personnes même sans le vouloir. Mieux vaudrait les bannir de ses communications, à cela se rajoute les insultes : « fif », « tranny », « tapette », « moumoune », « butch », « gouine », « pédé », etc.

 

DES CONSÉQUENCES GRAVES

Les jeunes lesbiennes, gais et bisexuels seraient deux fois plus nombreux que les jeunes hétérosexuels à signaler la cyberintimidiation et l’intimidation à l’école. 

Un tiers des jeunes qui sont intimidés sur le Web signalent des symptômes de dépression.

DISCOURS HAINEUX

Le discours haineux (que l’on retrouve souvent sur les réseaux sociaux) est un type de discours qui attaque une communauté ou un membre d’une communauté sur la base d’une de ses caractéristiques (ex : orientation sexuelle, identité de genre). Il se base sur des stéréotypes et a pour effet de :

  • Blesser (ex. : insultes);

  • Provoquer la peur (ex. : menaces);

  • Déshumaniser (ex. : comparaison avec des animaux ou une maladie);

  • Isoler (présenter le groupe jugé « anormal » comme fondamentalement différent de la majorité).

 

CYBER INTIMIDATION

On parle de cyberintimidation lorsqu’une personne devient la cible des agissements d'autres personnes, au moyen d'ordinateurs, de téléphones cellulaires ou d'autres appareils, et que le but est de l'embarrasser, de l'humilier, de la tourmenter, de la menacer ou de la harceler. (Sécurité publique Canada)

CHIFFRES

  • 73% des personnes LGBTQ+ ont déclaré avoir déjà été personnellement attaquées ou harcelées en ligne (Selon VpnMentor).

  • 35% des jeunes LGBT intimidé.e.s en ligne ont déclarées avoir eu des idéations suicidaires à cause de la cyberintimidation. 1

  • x2 la proportion de la population qui a déjà fait l’expérience de la cyberintimidation à un moment de leur vie a presque doublée entre 2007 (18%) et 2016 (34%). 2

  • 1/5 des jeunes LGBT pensent que la cyberintimidation est une part normale et inévitable de la vie en ligne. 3

Fréquence à laquelle les Canadien.ne.s disent être témoin de propos désobligeants à l’égard de personnes homosexuelles, sur Facebook (2013)

PROBLÉMATIQUES

QUI EST AFFECTÉ?

Les violences en lignes affectent tout le monde, mais certaines communautés sont particulièrement prises pour cibles, c'est le cas des communautés LGBTQ+. À l'intérieur même de ces communautés, tout le monde n'est pas affecté de la même façon. Par ailleurs des personnes non-LGBTQ+ peuvent également vivre de l'homophobie et la transphobie lorsqu'elles sont perçues comme LGBTQ+ ou qu'elles sont associées à des personnes LGBTQ+ (ex : enfant de familles LGBTQ+, personnes hétérosexuelles qui sortent avec une personne bisexuelle, trans ou asexuelle).

UNE VIOLENCE TABOUE

La violence en ligne est très peu prises au sérieux, et pourtant elle a des conséquences bien réelles. Malheureusement, beaucoup n'osent pas en parler aux autorités ou à leurs proches. L'étude de vpnMentor montre que de nombreux participants minimisent le harcèlement subi et excusent ce comportement qui est « habituel ». Certaines personnes se résignent et subissent ces violences dans le silence, d'autres se retirent des réseaux sociaux ou cachent leur identité.

 

UN CERCLE VICIEUX

La cyberintimidation est un cercle vicieux : Une étude faite en 2012 (Arslan, Savaser, Hallett, & Balci) montre que les victimes de cyberintimidation ont plus de chance de faire de la cyberintimidation, car la vengeance peut devenir un mécanisme d'adaptation. De plus, cette étude montre que faire de la cyberintimidation augmente de 20 fois les chances d'être victime de cyberintimidation.

Il est donc primordial de briser le cercle.

HARCÈLEMENT SEXUEL

Les femmes des communautés LBTQ+ sont généralement plus à risque en matière de harcèlement sexuel. Les femmes bisexuelles et lesbiennes reçoivent souvent des demandes de faveurs sexuelles (ex : proposition de « plan à trois ») qui peuvent être déshumanisantes et harcelantes. Les personnes asexuel.le.s, sont souvent prises pour cibles par des personnes qui souhaitent les "convaincre" ou les "convertir" à la sexualité. Enfin les personnes trans (et surtout les femmes) sont souvent l’objet de fétichisation et de curiosité malsaine.

 

OUTING

Les personnes qui n'ont pas fait leur coming-out à tout leur entourage peuvent être victime de chantage ou être prise pour cible par des personnes malfaisantes. Les femmes transgenres sont les plus susceptibles d'avoir leur identité exposée en ligne contre leur volonté. La divulgation de l’identité LGBTQ+ peut potentiellement occasionner la réception de messages haineux, créer une dynamique familiale hostile, endommager une carrière, voire mettre la personne en danger. Rappelons que dans la majorité du monde, les discriminations liées à l'orientation sexuelle et l'identité de genre ne sont pas illégales, et dans de nombreux pays, l'homosexualité est encore criminalisée. (Voir la page International)

Le saviez-vous ?

Près des deux tiers (65%) des Canadien.ne.s disent intervenir lorsqu'illes sont confronté.es à de l'homophobie dans la vie de tous les jours, mais moins de la moitié (44%) affirment le faire lorsque cela se passe sur Internet. (2015)

SOLUTIONS

SIGNALER

Si vous voyez du contenu violent (incitation à la  haine, menaces, etc.) signalez le contenu ou son auteur.e à la plateforme.

BLOQUER

Si vous ne souhaitez plus être contacté.e par une personne, n'hésitez pas à la bloquer. 

MASQUER

Si vous êtes un charge d'une page, vous pouvez masquer ou supprimer les commentaires qui ne correspondent pas aux valeurs de votre page. 

PORTER PLAINTE

Si vous recevez des messages de menaces, ou que vous êtes harcelé.e, vous pouvez porter plainte. 

RÉPONDRE

Personne n’a la responsabilité d’éduquer le monde sur les enjeux LGBTQ+ dans son temps libre, surtout lorsque cela implique de se faire insulter. Cependant, répondre peut faire changer d’avis certaines personnes, notamment les spectateurs passifs ou les personnes qui sont plus ignorantes que malveillantes

RESSOURCES:

pride flagging.jpg

PRIDE FLAGGING est un projet collaboratif réalisé dans le cadre du 17 mai pour enrayer la cyberhomophobie et la cybertransphobie. Activez l’extension pour navigateur sur Twitter pour identifier automatiquement les commentaires haineux et simplifier le processus de signalement.

Stop cyberhate

Comment réagir au cyber-harcèlement en tant que parents ? adolescents ? professionnels de l'éducation ? Trouvez également des vidéos et des quiz sur le sujet. 

No Hate Speech

Comment signaler des propos haineux sur les différentes plateformes sociales ? 

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Définition de la cyberintimidation, l'intimidation et la loi et les mesures à prendre.

Dangerous speech project

Quand est-ce que le discours haineux devient dangereux ? Comment y répondre ?

Tel Jeunes

Retrouvez des renseignements sur la cyberintimidation, une FAQ et une ligne d'écoute.

ReThink

ReThink est un outil technologique innovant qui détecte et arrête efficacement la haine en ligne avant que le mal ne soit causé.
 

À LIRE POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS:

© 2020 FONDATION ÉMERGENCE

Site web par C'est Paulette

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Twitter